Indian Elections: Lok Sabha Election & State Assembly Elections. Get the latest when India Votes. 
Indian Elections Indian Elections
Election Results 2011 General Election 2009 Assembly Elections Election News Constituencies Indian Electoral Systems

Jammu & Kashmir

Live Update
Biennial Elections to the Legislative Council 2009-2010
Uttar Pradesh

Jammu: General Election 2009 Results
PC No Constituency Name Winning Candidates Party
21 Baramulla Sharief Ud Din Shariq Jammu & Kashmir National Conference
22 Srinagar Farooq Abdullah Jammu & Kashmir National Conference
23 Anantnag Mirza Mehboob Beg Jammu & Kashmir National Conference
24 Ladakh Hassan Khan Independent
25 Udhampur Ch. Lal Singh Indian National
26 Jammu Madan Lal Sharma Indian National Congress

Constituencies in Jammu & Kashmir
1 - Baramulla 2 - Srinagar 3 - Anantnag
4 - Ladakh 5 - Udhampur 6 - Jammu

Elections Schedule 2009
Schedule No. 1 Schedule No. 2B Schedule No. 3B Schedule No. 4 Schedule No. 5A
Poll Day
Poll Day
Poll Day
Poll Day
Poll Day
6 Jammu 5 Udhampur 3 Anantnag 2 Srinagar 1 Baramulla
4 Ladakh


Omar Abdullah set to be the new CM of Jammu & Kashmir

29 Dec., 2008 : With the results of J&K Assembly Elections declared on 28th december, it is now certain that Omar Abdullah of the National Conference will be the new chief minister of J&K. Omar Abdullah, who led the National Conference campaign to emerge as the single largest party in J&K Assembly.

With the Congress backing the National Conference, a formal announcement is expected today after senior Congress leaders meet Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.The senior congress leaders will brief Manmohan Singh about the party's decision to go with the National Conference and after this Omar Abdullah will seal the deal with Sonia Gandhi. Abdullah is expected to meet today Mrs. Gandhi to discuss the formation of the new government in Jammu and Kashmir.

Can Jammu & Kashmir polls break 36-year-old jinx?

An interesting fact about the J&K elections is that this time a large number of female candidates have contested for the assembly elections and people are now waiting to see if a 36-year-old record for the highest number of women in the assembly will be broken.

It was in 1972 that four women (Zainab Begum, Hajra Begum, Shanta Bharti and Nirmala Devi) were elected to the legislature, which still remains the highest figure for women MLAs in the state.All women were elected on Congress tickets.There were four others (Khem Lata Wakhloo, Amina Begum, Hassan Ara Begum and Misra Bano) who contested but lost.

This time too a large number of women are in the fray in the state elections. As many as 10 women candidates contested in the first three phases of elections and a large number are expected to contest in the remaining phases.

General Elections 2004
Constituencies in Jammu & Kashmir Partywise Position in Jammu & Kashmir

Partywise Position in Jammu & Kashmir

Details of PCs
Total PCs 6
PCs for which Elections are being held 6
PCs for which results are available 6

Electors and Voters
Total Electors 6369963
Polling Stations 7215
Polling %age 36.15

Number of Candidates
National Parties State Parties State Parties-Other States Other Reg. Parties Independents Total Contestants
13 13 8 12 37 83

Party Constituencies
Contesting Won
BJP 6 0
BSP 3 0
CPM 1 0
INC 3 2
JKN 6 2
AIFB 4 0
JD(S) 1 0
RLD 1 0
SP 2 0
IJP 1 0
JKAL 1 0
RPI 1 0
SAP 3 0
SDP 1 0
SJP(R) 1 0
SPI 2 0
IND 37 1
TOTAL 83 6

India Election Home  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact / Feedback

Copyright © Indian Elections. All rights reserved.